School Houses

Students are allocated to one of five Learning Houses of Lytton High School. Each house is led by a Dean who supports the students in terms of their academic and pastoral needs along with leading the group in competitive inter-house competitions.

The houses are named after native trees of New Zealand which symbolically provide specific significance to learning and development. While each house has particular characteristics, students are all part of the nourishment, shelter and guidance provided by all characteristics of all the Houses. The whole forest is theirs to explore.

Each House has its own symbol and significance to learning:

Whare Ponga

  • The international stage
  • Global Networks
  • National achievement
  • A sense of belonging
  • Pride of place

Whare Rata

  • Spirit of conversation
  • Abundance for all
  • Celebration
  • Alive with Talent

Whare Kowhai

  • Nourishing
  • Positive Outlook
  • Multi-talented
  • National pride

Whare Nikau

  • Sheltering and patient
  • Learning from the past
  • Prepare for the future
  • Strong
  • Creative

Whare Makauri

  • Magic young people
  • Caring
  • Respectful
  • Proud
  • Striving high